A Stinky Sanctification

My 3 year old, Asher has been potty trained for a while now. He does fantastic during the day, but at night he still wears a pull-up. Every morning he and Isaac wake up with droopy drawers. Up until recently they knew the drill. Every morning I clean their bottoms and give them a fresh pull-up and a new pair of underpants. A clean bum is a happy bum, right? Well, a couple of weeks ago Asher decided that having a clean heiny is not worth the discomfort of the changing process.Now when they wake up, Isaac lays down without a fuss, gets cleaned up and moves on to face the day. Asher on the other hand, denies that he has pooped, begs for me to leave him alone and only surrenders when the changing is almost complete. Because I love him I still change him. I did it yesterday, I did it today, and I will do it tomorrow.
One morning after going through this whole process once again, I realized something. When God reveals to me the poo in my life, how often do I deny that it is there? Or I say, “God please don’t change me! The way that I am really isn’t all that bad. ” Change is uncomfortable and sometimes even painful. As God wipes away the mess he reveals my flesh, often blistered and broken. He brings me to a place of surrender and heals my wounds. I know that He will continue to change me day by day.
Thank you God for loving me!

May God himself, the God of peace, sanctify you through and through.
May your whole spirit, soul and body be kept blameless at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ.
The one who calls you is faithful and he will do it.

1 Thessalonians 5:23-24

Leave a Reply

